About the Nepean Conservation Group Inc

The Nepean Conservation Group Inc (formerly known as the Sorrento Portsea Blairgowrie Conservation Group) was established in 1973.  We look after the Nepean Peninsula on the tip of the Mornington Peninsula. We have been caring for our country for forty years. We work in partnership with the Mornington Peninsula Shire and Parks Victoria. We work alongside the Nepean Historical Society Inc, the Nepean Ratepayers Association and the Portsea Sorrento Chamber of Commerce. However we are an independent voice for conservation on the Nepean Peninsula. We are a not for profit community organisation who believe that conservation is our bridge to the future.

We would like all people to understand and appreciate the natural, cultural and built heritage that contributes to the sense of place on the Nepean Peninsula. To that end we aim to lead and inspire the community to appreciate, recognise, conserve, protect and celebrate the natural, cultural and built heritage of the Nepean Peninsula.

We are a strong advocate for conservation in our local area.  We are the umbrella group for fifteen Friends Groups who work in Shire reserves and the National Parks. We contribute to policy and planning in the Shire and the State. We work to maintain the character and amenity of the area by advocating that new developments are in harmony with neighbourhood precincts. We educate and engage the community in discourse about our natural, cultural and built heritage and its contribution to our sense of place and belonging.


•  Maintain the character and amenity of the Sorrento, Portsea and Blairgowrie area.

•  Ensure new developments are in harmony with the character of our area.

•  Foster conservation of the vegetation, wildlife, natural attributes and historic features of the area.


The Nepean Conservation Group Inc (NCG) covers the Nepean Peninsula (the tip of the Mornington Peninsula, Victoria, Australia) from Rye to Point Nepean. The Nepean Conservation Group covers the Nepean Ward: this includes the townships of Rye, Blairgowrie, Sorrento and Portsea. The photograph below shows Point Nepean at the very tip of the Peninsula with Bass Strait (the ocean side on the left of the peninsula) and Port Phillip beyond the headland.

CLICK HERE to take a tour of the Sorrento Heritage!


NCG Committee 2018

The photograph above from Google Maps shows us what the Portsea, Sorrento and Blairgowrie area was like just six years ago. This is helpful when mapping the great change that is occuring in this area.

President: Ursula de Jong (president@nepeanconservationgroup.org.au)

Company Secretary: Eddy de Jong (info@nepeanconservationgroup.org.au)

Membership: John Franklin (info@nepeanconservationgroup.org.au)


NCG Committee: Ursula de Jong (President); Ian Gray (Vice-president), Eddy de Jong (Company Secretary), Gary Naughton (Treasurer), Rhonda Day (Secretary).

Committee Members: John Atchison, Ruth Belfrage,  Barend Frielink,  Ian Haskins, Lisa Howard, John Trewarne.


Reg. No. AOO 2079IU

PO Box 157, Sorrento, 3943

Website: www.nepeanconservationgroup.org.au

Email: info@nepeanconservationgroup.org.au